Off-Broadway Preview: “All the Fine Boys” at the New Group at the Pershing Square Signature Center

January 13, 2017 | News, Off-Broadway, Previews | Tags:
Off Broadway Preview: "All the Fine Boys" at the New Group at the Pershing Square Signature Center (Through Sunday March 26, 2017)
Written and Directed by Erica Schmidt
Preview by David Roberts
Theatre Reviews Limited

The New Group proudly presents the world premiere of All the Fine Boys, a new play from writer and director Erica Schmidt, featuring Abigail BreslinIsabelle FuhrmanJoe Tippett and Alex Wolff.  Previews begin February 14 in advance of Official Opening Night on Wednesday, March 1.  A limited Off-Broadway engagement plays through March 26 at The Pershing Square Signature Center (Ford Foundation Studio Theatre, 480 West 42nd Street).
Fourteen-year-old best friends Jenny (Abigail Breslin) and Emily (Isabelle Fuhrman) are hungry for knowledge and experience, and in suburban South Carolina in the late ’80s, experience is readily found with older boys.  Emily chooses her senior crush from the high school play (Alex Wolff), and Jenny, a man she’s seen at her family’s church (Joe Tippett).  With parallel stories that take tricky and terrifying turns, Erica Schmidt’s All the Fine Boys dives deep into the fascinations and complications of sexual awakening and the first painful gasps of adulthood.
This production features Scenic Design by Amy Rubin, Costume Design by Tom Broecker, Lighting Design by Jeff Croiter and Sound Design by Bart Fasbender.  Production Stage Manager is Jillian M. Oliver.  Casting is by Judy Henderson, CSA.
The New Group’s 2016-2017 season launched with Sweet Charity, choreographed by Joshua Bergasse, directed by Leigh Silverman and starring Sutton Foster, which enjoyed three extensions, playing its final performance January 8.  The season continues with the U.S. premiere of Wallace Shawn’s Evening at the Talk House, directed by Scott Elliott, featuring Matthew BroderickJill EikenberryJohn EppersonLarry Pine, Wallace ShawnClaudia Shear, Annapurna Sriram and Michael Tucker (January 31 – March 12; Opening Night: February 16).  Following the world premiere production of All the Fine Boys, The New Group proudly presents the world premiere of The Whirligig, by Hamish Linklater, directed by Scott Elliott, featuring Norbert Leo ButzZosia Mamet and Maura Tierney (begins May 2, Opening Night: May 21; additional casting to be announced).